End-device join failed error

Hi,

I am very new to LoRa and I want to set up an end-device to join ttn network. I have a Rak811 (v3) LoRa module (LoRa node phat) on a raspberry pi compute module 4. I have already registered it on TTN with the DEV_EUI and JOIN_EUI that I got from the config when using the comand Rak811v3 get-config lora:status. I generated an APP_Key which I set to the same value on my lora module.
I want the lora node to join the network: for this I do the following steps:

• set the work_mode to LoRaWan
  • set the join_mode to OTAA
  • set lora region to EU868
  • set APP_EUI and APP_key to the values I used for TTN registration
  • set the datarate to 5
  • use the join command to join the network

But I get the following error:
Traceback (most recent call last):
File “/home/admin/Mausmaki/lora_node.py”, line 33, in
lora.join()
File “/home/admin/Mausmaki/venv/lib/python3.11/site-packages/rak811/rak811_v3.py”, line 508, in join
self._send_command(‘join’, timeout=self._event_timeout)
File “/home/admin/Mausmaki/venv/lib/python3.11/site-packages/rak811/rak811_v3.py”, line 261, in _send_command
raise Rak811ResponseError(response[len(RESPONSE_ERROR):])
rak811.rak811_v3.Rak811ResponseError: [Errno 99] LoRa join failed

What could be the possible reasons why my end-device cannot join the network? It should be possible without having my own gateway right?
Thanks in advance for answers.

Only if the node you have built is in range of a TTN GW…where are you? Where is nearest node? can you get closer to the public GW? Do you have clear LOS to the GW?

If I look on the TTN gateway map the closest gateway is 1.4km away. I am in Zurich near Oerlikon so the LOS is not clear there are a few buildings in between. Is this too far away?